BEDA 8 – Margaret Thatcher And The Internet

Image

So former Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher died earlier today. Now personally I don’t know enough about her to form an opinion though I do dislike what I do know about her politics.

It certainly seems a lot of people online also dislike her politics though I think they might be taking things a bit too far. People are celebrating and singing praise about her being dead. I don’t know what to think about that. And when I say celebrating I mean people were cheering, posting “ding dong, the witch is dead” and even saying things as simple as “today is a good day”.

I mean from what I understand she made of lot of people miserable during her time as Prime Minister and I am in no way arguing for or against opinions on her. However celebration of death has always made me uncomfortable and this was not only no exception but an especially awkward example.

First is the fact she hasn’t been “The Iron Lady” in years. All the actions that make her infamous are in the distant past. It’s not like she died while in power, she died as just another citizen of the UK.

Which brings me to my next point. She has a family, people who love her that are sad to see her go. Don’t you think they’re having a hard enough time dealing with her death without seeing people happy about the death of someone they care about? This isn’t even about Margaret Thatcher as a person, it’s thinking about a family mourning a loved one.

There’s a quote that’s supposedly from Martin Luther King. I don’t know if he ever actually said it but the fact remains that it sums up my feelings on the matter.
“I will mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy.”

I don’t pretend to be an expert on politics. I don’t even like what I know about Thatcher’s politics or the Conservative Party in general. I just don’t think death is something that should ever be celebrated.

Sorry to turn today’s BEDA into a bit of a rant but it was the main subject of discussion today so it would be odd to ignore it. For a more light hearted topic here’s today’s VEDA.

Leave a Reply

