BEDA 15 – Pokémon X & Y

Image

So I thought I’d share my thoughts on what we know about Pokémon X and Y so far. As a big fan of the series I am naturally exited.

Image
Image

The jump from sprites to 3D is one that has caused a mixed reaction. Many furious at such a change, others saying it’s about time. Personally I do like the new look but I can’t help but miss the sprites that have been with the main games. Personally I would have liked a CG overworld with sprite battles but I think X & Y have done a good job of making the graphics stand out alone rather than being better or worse than another.

Next are, of course, the Pokémon themselves.

Chespin

Chespin is cute. I can see it being popular when the anime of X & Y starts much like Oshawott before it. Out of the starters I think this has the best potential in its evolved form.

Fennekin

Fennekin is ok but I think I’ll like its evolved forms more. Hopefully it’ll break the Fire/Fighting chain we’ve been having since Gen III.

Froakie

Froakie is my personal favourite of the starters. I think this guy works as a stand alone Pokémon to be honest. I hope he’ll stay as a frog as he evolves rather than turn into a toad to create a tougher look.

Sylveon

Sylveon might be my favourite Eeveelution right now. I do hope Gamefreak would hurry up and reveal its type already because I’m sick of people coming up with new type suggestions.

Xerneas

I wasn’t sure about Xerneas at first but I quite like it now. I wonder if the anime will give it a separate movie from Yvetal, I’ll be honest the two of them don’t feel as rival like as the last two generations box legendaries.

Yveltal

Yvetal is awesome. Much like Sylveon I wish we could see what type it is already. As much as I like dragon types I’d prefer if it and Xernas would break the recent pattern of box legendaries being dragons.

New_Mewtwo

Finally Mewtwo. I’ve already discussed the fact I really like this design. I do wish it didn’t get so much negative attention, I feel like people think this new form is replacing the regular Mewtwo when that’s not the case. I like both regular Mewtwo and Newtwo.

Mewtwo’s new form also got my thinking about what if other legendaries got new forms. Here are some I would love to see.

484Palkia 483Dialga

Since Giratina has an alternate form its only fair that these two get one too.

485Heatran

Heatran never really felt like a legendary to me. A new form could allow it to shine. Plus it could get a bigger role in the anime, most of its anime appearances made it seem like a regular non legendary Pokémon.

649Genesect

The origin of Genesect involves it being upgraded from a fossil. Well why not have a new form of it without the upgrades? That or the flight form from the anime.
649Genesect_BW_anime_3

646Kyuremkyuremramrom_by_the_devils_corpse-d4wnxfe

Yes Kyurem already has enough forms but the original dragon is still something we haven’t seen. Kyurem used to be one with both Reshiram and Zekrom.

249Lugia249Lugia-Shadow_XD_2

And finally Lugia. Make Shadow Lugia an actual form.

That’s all for now. If any now information comes out this month I’ll be sure to discuss it.

Leave a Reply

