BEDA 2014: 08 – My thoughts on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. so far

Image

So after the events of Captain America: The Winter Soldier something big happened with S.H.I.E.L.D. and now this show is having a tie-in episode. Being excited about I thought I might post my thoughts on the show so far. I’ll admit it had a bit of a slow start but after a few episodes getting to know the agents we started getting bigger stories. These last few episodes have been a huge improvement and I can’t wait for this next one.

Agents of SHIELD returns

So what do I think of the team. Well familiar face Phil Coulson is always nice to see in a Marvel project, the mystery behind his resurrection itself was alright but it’s how he copes with what he finds that really make him an interesting character here. The rest I’ll talk about from left to right.

Skye’s character is probably the one who grows the most over the series, she starts off very much against S.H.I.E.L.D. and what it stands for but now it’s her family (I can’t wait to see how the events of Winter Soldier effect her). There are some people who think they’re building up to making her Jessica Drew (Spider-Woman), if this is what they do I’d be ok with that.

Fitz and Simmons are often my favourite characters, as the team’s scientists they’re not as qualified for the more dangerous assignments but at least one of them is almost always needed so there’s always a sense of danger for them that the more action ready agents. The reason I’m covering them together is that while they’re good characters on their own it’s as a duo that they shine.

Melinda May is by far the coolest of the action heavy agents. The fact the actress playing her is Ming-Na Wen, the voice of Mulan, adds to her awesomeness. This next episode is looking to be important for her too, especially when it comes to secrets and trust.

Ward I’ll be honest is the weakest character in terms of being interesting. He’s alright but even after some character development he still just seems dull if I’m honest.

Image

As for the story it’s certainly one that can be impressive. The Deathlok stuff is pretty cool and the Clairvoyant that tying a lot of the plots does make the earlier episodes mean something but really the question of who it is is the part about this character that is interesting. I’m hoping it’s someone from the comics.

Image

My favourite episode so far would have to be Yes Men, the Sif episode. There had been a Thor: The Dark World tie-in episode earlier that wasn’t so impressive but this more than made up for it. It also might be setting up something interesting for the next Thor movie.

I’ll probably review the episodes of it after they air as well as Game of Thrones. I’ll try to do a better job at it though. Also the Smash Bros Nintendo Direct is tonight, it’d be too late to post for today’s VEDA but I will blog about the news tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

