BEDA 2015: 23 – Age of Ultron review (no spoilers)

Age_of_Ultron_Vol_1_1

So today I- Wait. That’s the wrong Age of Ultron. Let’s start again.

Avengers_Rage_of_Ultron_Vol_1_1

So tod- No, that’s wrong again.

teaser2-e5844

That one isn’t even out! Ok one more time.

Avengers-Age-of-Ultron-Poster

There we go, that’s the one. So today I went to see this movie. It’s only the third 2015 movie I’ve seen so far but as of right now it’s the best. As the title of today’s BEDA says there will be no spoilers in this review, that does mean this is mostly a “this actor was great, and the movie was great and you should go see it” kind of review but I’m not going to ruin the movie for you if you haven’t seen it.

ultron

First lets talk Ultron himself… that’s the wrong Ultron but never mind. I’m not familiar with any of James Spader’s earlier work but his voice was perfect for Ultron. The character himself was very well written too, especially how he interacts with other characters. So far it’s between Ultron and Kingpin for my favourite MCU villain.

avengers-age-ultron

The returning cast also do a great job as do the newcomers. Every Avenger has their own arc including separate (though connected) arcs for Bruce Banner and the Hulk. And most importantly there is focus. I keep saying whenever people complain about movies having too many characters (like too many villains in Spider-Man 3) that the real problem is a lack of focus. MCU team films however have focus, they know how much attention each character arc needs so that nothing feels rushed or forced.

url-302

I think that’s all I can say without getting into spoiler territory so I’ll finish the review here. I was short I know but a lot of the movie is hard to talk about without spoiling it. I’ll wrap up by saying the action was awesome and the gags were priceless (the best aren’t even in the trailers and clips).

Leave a Reply

