Little Door Gods – Review

The trailer for this film caught my attention when it appeared on my Tumblr feed (along with a fair amount of screenshots and fanart) and I made a note to watch it when it became available.

The thing that really stood out for me about this film are the visuals. Everything from the character designs to the look of the Spirit World are really impressive. This is something I really like getting to see when I watch an animated film from another culture, I get to see their own unique approach to animation that I’m not used to.

tumblr_nycr0csTgm1sqyhgqo6_540

The story focuses on the fact that in the modern world the Chinese gods aren’t really needed any more and are facing unemployment with a parallel story of a little girl and her mother trying to keep their family’s shop open with a risk of getting shut down a rival store owner. It’s a nice story but does have a bit of a slow pace at times.

link

Overall I enjoyed this film but I don’t expect to see it in my top 10 by the end of the year. I will however continue to be listening to this song from the dance scene because it’s extremely catchy. I also hope to see cosplayers of some of the characters at MCM this year, especially the flower goddess Huaxian (who disappointingly isn’t in the movie that much).

Next review is probably going to be Deadpool.

 

Leave a Reply

