Alien: Resurrection – Review

Part of why I wanted to review every movie I see this year while I (somewhat slowly) make my way through my To Watch list is because I know at some point I’m going to have a controversial opinion on a movie most people feel very strongly about.

This is that movie. I thought this was pretty good, way better than Alien 3 that’s for sure. It delivers on the subplot of humans trying to capture, study and weaponize the aliens that they’ve been building up to since the first movie. The Xenomorphs are smart again, the scenery is well designed again and there are well written supporting characters again. Why do people hate this movie again?

fa01acc58bc5

You have a group of space pirates along with the Xenomorph hybrid clone of Ripley with an identity crisis. It’s like an early blueprint for Firefly. It’s not as good as Firefly or even the first two Alien films but it’s still a pretty fun movie. Sigourney Weaver does a great job of making clone Ripley the right balance of being like the Ripley we know from the previous films but still technically a new character.

2736741_orig

So at the end of the main series my ranking is Aliens > Alien > Alien: Resurrection > Alien 3. I’ll make a more complete ranking once I’ve seen the Alien Vs Predator films (and another when I get around to watching Prometheus). Next review will be Predator.

Leave a Reply

