Top 10 E3 2016 Trailers

So after watching a few of this year’s E3 trailers (some of which I got to see live on Twitch) I decided I wanted to put together a top 10 list. I’ll admit most of the trailers in this list are for games I’m already looking forward to but I did watch a lot of trailers before making this list, these games just had a bit of an advantage.

#10

Skyrim Special Edition

Kicking off this list we have a trailer for a game I already own, only now the visuals look even better. Plus since I own all the DLC I’ll be getting the upgrade for free.

#9

Final Fantasy XV

A big part of why this made the list is because of that Chocobo scene. The game does look very visually stunning with great monster and set designs. The things that keep it this low though are the mediocre main character designs and the VR segment at the end. VR just doesn’t interest me.

#8

Skylanders Imaginators (Crash Bandicoot reveal)

I’ve often said that in order to make me consider getting a Skylanders game when games like Disney Infinity and LEGO Dimensions exist it’s going to need more characters I’m already familiar with. Now they’ve got Bowser, Donkey Kong and will be adding Crash Bandicoot to the next game and have even got some decent designs for their new characters. I recently picked up the newest game Superchargers for the reduced price of £15 and the gameplay is a lot of fun. I’ve just got my fingers crossed that when Spyro has his 20th anniversary in 2019 they’d add a classic Spyro figure because I’m still not a fan of his Skylanders design.

#7

Yooka-Laylee

I’ll admit I wasn’t as on board the hype train for this game as most people have been. I thought it looked neat but not really worth getting excited about compared to other crowd funded games like Indivisible and another game on this list. But this trailer looks like so much fun. It’s not just the title characters’ similarities to Banjo-Kazooie that makes this feel like a modern N64 game,the overall look of the world and a lot of the creatures look just like an old N64 or PS1 game but with smoother graphics.

#6

Tekken 7

It doesn’t really show us any new information but that fight between Akuma and Heihachi was so cool it had to make the list. Still waiting for Namco to reveal some information on Tekken X Street Fighter though.

#5

Pokémon Sun and Moon

Of course Pokémon was going to be on this list. I love the new early route Pokémon and having them be revealed through random encounters was a nice touch, then we got a bonus reveal when this trailer was posted. I’m also glad to see that we’re getting full character customization again, we just need to see some new alternate hairstyles now.

#4

Horizon Zero Dawn

I really like the amalgamation of genres this game has going for it. I’ll admit it didn’t stand out to me back when it was first revealed but this trailer shows more of the world and story. Out of the PS4 exclusives this is the one I’m most excited for.

#3

We Happy Few

This is the other crowd funded game I was talking about. This game is pretty unique considering not only is it a game I backed the Kickstarter for but it also has one of my friends as part of the voice cast. The trailer does a great job introducing the game’s world to newcomers as well as the effects of being on and off your Joy. It’s great seeing this game included as part of a big conference and seeing people getting excited about it having seen it for the first time via this trailer. #praisetheyam

#2

LEGO Dimensions (year 2 figures)

This was one of the first E3 trailers that I saw and it’s still exciting to watch. I bought this game last month and have been having a lot of fun with it. The crossover element isn’t just part of the appeal but also the plot and the gameplay and now we’re getting even more franchises involved. The fact that in a few months I’ll be able to play as Finn in Middle Earth and have a team up of the original Ghostbusters and the new Ghostbusters is super exciting to a crossover fan like myself. I’m still sad that Disney Infinity has been cancelled but I’m glad there’s still a game like LEGO Dimensions to keep the toys to life crossover genre alive.

#1

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild

This game looks beautiful. The visuals remind me of Studio Ghibli movies while the gameplay is both completely different from the rest of the Zelda games and familiar to it. As someone who chose to wear the Zora Armour for the majority of his Twilight Princess playthrough and loved that Wind Waker’s New Game+ has him in his Outset Island clothes I love the fact that the game will contain several different outfits and weapons. Honestly my only complaint is that Link isn’t left handed, but this time that’s just be being a little disappointed Link and I don’t have that in common rather than an actual handicap to gameplay like in Skyward Sword.

Leave a Reply

