Kubo and the Two Strings – Review

Laika have made many great movies that I highly recommend to anyone who hasn’t seen them yet (especially if you enjoy stop motion animation) but until now I haven’t seen one in the cinema. This is one of the films I’ve been looking forward to most this year.

This is one of the best films I’ve seen this year and is my favourite Laika film so far. I not only encourage people to see this but see it in the cinema while you still have a chance because such stunning animation needs to be seen on the big screen.

KUBO AND THE TWO STRINGS

The scale of this film is especially amazing. I’m sure if you’ve read/watched any other review they’ve brought up the skeleton and how it’s the largest stop motion puppet ever made but that’s just one example of how impressive the effects in this film are. Kubo’s powers, even more giant puppets and of course the water effects. I know animated movies don’t tend to get nominated for Best Visual Effects at the Oscars but if this film doesn’t not only get nominated but also win then no one should ever respect the Academy again.

kubo-gallery-04

The amount of influences Japanese culture has had on the film is also great to watch as someone who has been an anime fan for a long time. There’s clear inspiration from Japanese mythology, legends and stories as well as Studio Ghibli and various other Japanese film makers. I don’t know the original inspiration but Kubo’s powers are very similar to Yomiko Readman from R.O.D (Read Or Die).

kubo-and-the-two-strings-laika

And along with all that the story itself is really good and has Japanese influences of its own. I don’t actually want to say anything else about the story because it’s better to just see it. Seriously this is one of this year’s must see movies and will be in my top 10 at the end of the year without a doubt. I don’t know how Laika can top this but when they make their next film I’m going to make sure to see it in the cinema too.

2 thoughts on “Kubo and the Two Strings – Review

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Movies of 2016 | Gaiash Web Channel

  2. Pingback: My Own Awards Ceremony 2017 | Gaiash Web Channel

Leave a Reply

