The Big Lebowski – Review

This is a film that has been on my To-Watch list for a while now and part of my family’s DVD collection even longer than that, in fact I believe I added it when going through which films in said DVD collection I hadn’t seen while in a Google+ conversation.

The film is very odd. Intentionally of course but it does get distracting at times. It is still enjoyable though with a fair amount of funny dialogue and a great cast.

ezlnuxn

I did like finally seeing the origin of a few of the famous quotes and memes tied to this film. I’ve seen a lot of references to this movie before too so actually knowing what the characters are like helps me appreciate those references even more.

lebowski-busby

The film is very surreal and includes several Big Lipped Alligator Moments (including two dream sequences that seem more like drug sequences) and I can tell this is part of the film’s charm for some people but I just didn’t get it. I think my main issue was more “why is this happening NOW?” rather than why these scenes happened at all.

the-big-lebowski

I am glad I finally saw this even if I just found it to be alright. It just didn’t live up to the hype but is still a decent movie. Also side note, this is the only film I’ve seen by the Coen Brothers.

Leave a Reply

