Prometheus – Review

Well here it is, the last film I needed to see before finally completing the Alien/Predator franchise. Whenever I mentioned that I hadn’t seen this one the response was usually along the lines of “don’t bother” which of course made me more interested in seeing it.

As it turns out I actually liked it. It’s not as good as the better films in this franchise but it’s better than I expected it to be and a huge improvement over the mediocre Predators and the flat out awful AvP Requiem. It’s not great but it is good.

prometheus56

First the visuals of this film are great. The hologram scene stands out for me but also the location manages to capture the same look of the original Alien while also being new. Plus after the disappointing settings of AVP Requiem and Predators it’s nice to see a well designed location in this franchise again. The film’s cast is also very talented and actually play well written characters, something that again was absent in the last two movies.

picture-2

The film isn’t without its flaws though and the biggest in my opinion was how boring the Engineers’ designs are. I get why they look like humans but that doesn’t change the fact that giant albino Dr. Manhattan is a boring design and they looked better when I thought their helmets were their actual faces. It’s a shame because there are other creatures like the squid thing and the new Xenomorph style creature that looked cool.

deacon_prometheusmovie_still

So that’s the Alien/Predator franchise finished, at least until the next film comes out. Until then here’s my finally ranking of the entire franchise.

Aliens > Alien vs Predator > Alien > Predator 2 > Predator > Alien: Resurrection > Prometheus > Predators > Aliens vs Predator: Requiem > Alien 3

So with this franchise finished it’s time to start planning my next movie marathons. I have a few ideas including a shorter one I plan on doing later this week. And of course there’s only one way I can end this review, with a link to the song that always pops into my head whenever this movie comes up (and I’m currently listening to as I type this).

Leave a Reply

