kimi-no-na-wa-your-name-anime-bentobyte-visual-1140x494

Your Name – Review

As this year draws to a close I knew I wanted to try and find one new anime film to watch. So when I not only heard about this film but that my local Vue was showing it I knew I had to check it out.

One of the first things I noticed was that they were showing the dub. It’s been a while since I last watched dubbed anime but fortunately the dub for this movie was pretty good. It has some talented voice actors and no one sounded distractingly familiar.

2bd5eec2ecaa0822531f81cc8e80d2829b422552_hq

As for the film itself it’s really good. It takes the commonly used body switch concept and puts a new spin on it. These differences are what make this the best film to use the formula that I’ve seen. I especially like how they regularly switch back and get to experience the effect they have on each other’s lives.

3573

The film is directed by Makoto Shinkai who also directed 5 Centimeters Per Second. Much like that film Your Name features really beautiful sky and scenery shots that were especially stunning to witness on the big screen. If you have the chance to see this in the cinema I highly recommend it. The visuals are also complimented by a fantastic soundtrack by the band RADWIMPS which is without a doubt one of the best soundtracks I’ve heard this year (and this year has had a fair amount of great soundtracks).

kimi-no-na-wa-your-name-anime-bentobyte

If you want to see some of this year’s best films this is without a doubt one that you should watch even if you don’t really watch that much anime. I only really need to see two more films before I’ll be ready to write my top 10 list, one of those films will be later this week…

0 thoughts on “Your Name – Review

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Movies of 2016 | Gaiash Web Channel

Leave a Reply

