top10moviesof2016

Top 10 Movies of 2016

As this year draws to a close it’s time to finally post my top 10. I’ve seen 44 of this year’s film and reviewed every single one of them, something I plan to keep doing next year. For those new to my top 10 film lists I go by the original release date rather than just the UK release, fortunately this is another year where nothing I was looking forward to was delayed until the following year over here. Now on to the list…

#10

Doctor Strange

I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of the MCU, especially when we’re still getting new solo movies that expand on the universe. One of my favourite things about this film is that Doctor Strange himself is a man of science and combines his knowledge of science with the knowledge he gains about magic, no science vs magic here. And yes while many people may be tired of him Benedict Cumberbatch gives a great performance and was the perfect choice to play the Sorcerer Supreme.

#9

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

From one magic user to another. This movie has an advantage over the previous Harry Potter movies with it not being an adaptation there’s no negative comparisons to the books to be made (like the times they kept replacing Dobby with Neville). It really made the wizarding world feel new again and I hope that the sequels they have planned will explore more of the world, maybe get to see what some of these creatures are like in the wild.

#8

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

The first of Disney’s new Star Wars films outside of the main series. It’s both similar to and different enough from the original trilogy to have its intended effect. I do wonder if the CG used for two of the characters in this film was a test for a possible appearance from Obi Wan in Episode VIII. I still think Force Awakens is a much better film but this is still a great addition to the franchise. Also the best prequel (and I didn’t even hate the prequels).

#7

Deadpool

This movie proves that Fox can make great movies with the X-Men rights. This is everything a Deadpool movie should be and I’m really glad Ryan Reynolds finally got a chance to play the character properly after the whole Barakapool mess. If you’re a fan of the character you’ve probably already seen it and don’t need me to recommend it.

 

#6

Ghostbusters

This is the kind of reboot I prefer, one that tells a new (but similar) story with new characters in a familiar setting. This is the film that properly introduced me to Kate McKinnon who is hilarious in this and everything else I’ve seen her in since. I know a lot of people hate this movie but I loved it. It’s also important to note that I’ve been frequently reblogging gifsets of this film throughout the year and made several purchases based on it including two t-shirts, a Funko Pop figure of Holtzmann and I pre-ordered the LEGO Dimensions Story Pack (which was a lot of fun by the way) so had to give it extra points for those things.

#5

Captain America: Civil War

While the hype surrounding this film has died down over the last few months I still stand by my thoughts on the film (in fact I’ve moved it up a couple of places since I first wrote this list). It’s thanks to this movie that a Spider-Man movie is one of the films I’m looking forward to the most about next year. I also wish I didn’t have to wait until 2018 for more Black Panther.

#4

Moana

It’s always a treat to see a new Disney animated musical. This film has great music, stunning visuals, likable characters, a talented cast and a fun adventure. After much debate my favourite song in the soundtrack is currently Shiny.

#3

Kubo and the Two Strings

This year has had many animated films with amazing visuals but this is the one with the most impressive ones. Laika continue to prove themselves as masters of stop motion animation and I’m so glad I finally got to see one on the big screen. This film also features the largest stop motion puppet ever made along with several other giant puppets. Any time you see something that towers over the protagonists remember that this is a stop motion film.

#2

Zootopia

Half of this list is made up of Disney movies. I’m really impressed by how well an important message about different forms of prejudice just fits into an animated film about talking animals with a bunch of silly animal puns (including a character played by Alan Tudyk whose name is a reference to his character in Frozen), I don’t know how they did it but they found a way. The silly animal puns are also hilarious.

#1

Your Name

I found out about this movie a couple of days before I went to see it in the cinema and now it’s my #1 film of the year. Much like the other animated films in this list the animation is stunning. In my review I said this is the best body swap movie I’ve ever seen and I stand by that. Even the dub was good, no matter what language you see this in it’s a fantastic film.

top10moviesof2016

I’m really pleased with how this list turned out. Honorable mentions are Kung Fu Panda 3, Finding Dory, Dirty 30 and Star Trek Beyond. Thank you for reading, look forward to seeing more movie reviews from me next year.

Leave a Reply

