Moonlight – Review

The last of the three Best Picture nominees I wanted to see before the Academy Awards themselves. The reason this film caught my attention was the amount of online reviewers I follow giving it high praise and some including it in their top 10 lists.

I liked it but it didn’t live up to the hype. It’s good but I just wasn’t amazed the way other people seemed to be. It’s probably due to my genre preferences though as this is just as good as the other Best Picture nominees I’ve seen but because I tend to prefer movies that are fun I didn’t get the same enjoyment out of it that other film reviewers had.

mahershala-ali-moonlight

The film has a great cast. It’s great seeing more from Mahershala Ali who was fantastic in Luke Cage. It’s a shame he’s only part of the first act as his character gets most of the best lines. The three actors playing Chiron do a great job of making you feel like you’re watching the same person in each act.

mv5bytflmdjhm2qtmzflns00nwzllthlmjitmjg2otewoty1zthkxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvyntk1ntmynzm-_v1_sy370_sx888_al_

I’d say the first two acts of the film are the strongest with the third act being a good conclusion to the story but dragged on a bit at times. Out of the three nominees I saw I think this and La La Land have the best chance of winning the Best Picture Oscar.

Leave a Reply

