My Own Awards Ceremony 2017

With the Oscars over it’s time for my own awards ceremony (with blackjack and hookers). This is my 4th year doing this and as usually the majority of these awards are for those not even nominated. That said there are four awards here where the winner was nominated, three of which I put together the images for before the Oscars even started. Also for those who are new to these awards I do have some of my own categories that other award shows don’t have. Anyway on with the awards, hopefully I won’t get anything mixed up.

Best Game Tie-In

best-game-tie-in

LEGO Dimensions Story Packs (Ghostbusters/Fantastic Beasts)

I had trouble deciding which of these I liked best so I decided to give the award to the Story Packs in general. Only in LEGO Dimensions will you be playing through the new Ghostbusters movie and find yourself fighting a boss battle against Dr. Eggman. I still have some minikits to collect in these levels and will have a lot of fun exploring these worlds in more detail.

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

best-makeup-and-hairstyling

Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo (Star Trek Beyond)

This is the only award I chose after seeing the Oscar results. I originally didn’t really feel the need to include this award but after seeing Suicide Squad win the Oscar despite the wider range of impressive makeup present in Star Trek Beyond I knew I needed to fix that.

Best Costume Design

best-costume-design

Jeffrey Kurland (Ghostbusters)

The original Ghostbusters costumes are iconic, so the fact the costumes in the new movie look even better is an impressive feat worth highlighting.

Best Cinematography

best-cinematography

Linus Sandgren (La La Land)

First of two awards with the same result as the Oscars. In my review I said that the best parts of La La Land are when the instrumentals and visuals take center stage. Plus as a musical the film has some great dance choreography.

Best Visual Effects

best-visual-effects

LAIKA (Kubo and the Two Strings)

So true to my word no one should ever respect the Academy again, or at the very least the voters because this movie’s effects are amazing. Not only are there several giant stop motion puppets but also stop motion water. I don’t think the Academy voters realize just how impressive this movie’s effects are. Sure Jungle Book looked good but Kubo’s effects blow it out of the STOP MOTION WATER. I’m glad the film was nominated though.

Best Original Song

best-original-song

Lin-Manuel Miranda/Jemaine Clement – Shiny (Moana)

This was a close call between Shiny and You’re Welcome. But out of the two the song I’ve been listening to the most since seeing the film was this one. I really hope to see Lin-Manuel Miranda’s name attached to more Disney musicals in the future. Also side note how did City of Stars, a song where the only line I can remember is the first one (and only then it’s because it has the name of the song in it), beat How Far I’ll Go? Seriously Academy what’s going on here?

Best Cover Song

best-cover-song

Regina Spektor – While My Guitar Gently Weeps (Kubo and the Two Strings)

Every year I add a new award for something I think deserves an award and this year after hearing this song and learning it was a cover I knew it needed to be included. I actually like this version of the song more than the original.

Best Original Score

best-original-score

RADWIMPS (Your Name)

2016 was a good year for film soundtracks with a lot of great choices to choose from. I went with Your Name though because when I first found out that the same band that performed the songs made the film’s score I was extra impressed.

Best Director

best-director

Makoto Shinkai (Your Name)

A big part of why I loved this movie was is animation and between this and 5 Centimeters Per Second Makoto Shinkai has proven himself to be one of the best anime directors working today. I’ve heard he feels uncomfortable about people calling him “the new Miyazaki” and that’s fair since their strengths are completely different.

Best Reprising Voice Actress

best-reprising-voice-actress

Ellen DeGeneres as Dory (Finding Dory)

Finding Dory explores Dory more as a character as we learn about her past and Ellen does a fantastic job returning all the same charm to the character that she had in the first movie.

Best Reprising Voice Actor

best-reprising-voice-actor

Mark Hamill as The Joker (Batman: The Killing Joke)

The Killing Joke isn’t a good movie for a lot of reasons (and I’ll admit I gave the adaptation part more credit than it deserves in my review) but the entire reason for it being made was because of the idea of hearing Mark Hamill’s iconic Joker voice saying the iconic Joker lines from the original comic and that part does deliver. Mark Hamill is still the best Joker and I’m glad this isn’t going to be his last time playing the character.

Best Reprising Actress

best-reprising-actress

Mia Wasikowska as Alice Kingsleigh (Alice Through the Looking Glass)

Speaking of movies that weren’t very good that I gave too much credit in my original review I rewatched a bit of this movie recently and honestly I think a lot of the credit I originally gave the film was due to Mia Wasikowska’s performance.

Best Reprising Actor

best-reprising-actor

Ryan Reynolds as Wade Wilson/Deadpool (Deadpool)

While Reynolds was good as Deadpool the first time this is the movie where he finally gets to play Deadpool as he is in the comics and he does an amazing job. Honestly if I didn’t separate the reprising actors from actors playing a role for the first time this would be the Best Actor performance.

Best Supporting Actress

best-supporting-actress

Kate McKinnon as Jillian Holtzmann (Ghostbusters)

Holtzmann is my favourite Ghostbuster in general and a big part of that comes from Kate McKinnon’s perfomance. An example of how good a performance this was is the fact that even some of the less positive reviews I saw of the film still enjoyed her performance.

Best Supporting Actor

best-supporting-actor

Chadwick Boseman as T’Challa/Black Panther (Captain America: Civil War)

I’m really excited about the Black Panther movie coming out next year and a big part of that comes from Chadwick Boseman’s performance in Civil War. This is a movie where the best live action movie version of Spider-Man makes his first appearance and he’s still upstaged by the king of Wakanda.

Best Voice Actress

best-voice-actress

Auli’i Cravalho as Moana Waialiki (Moana)

This is Auli’i Cravalho’s first role and she does a fantastic job, her singing voice is especially good. So far Moana is the only role listed on her IMDB page but hopefully we’ll be hearing more from her in the future.

Best Voice Actor

best-voice-actor

Alan Tudyk as K-2SO (Rogue One: A Star Wars Story)

These last few years Alan Tudyk has found himself in a lot of Disney roles. Out of his roles from last year the one that stood out the most was was the reprogrammed Imperial droid with the funniest lines in the entire movie.

Best Leading Actress

best-leading-actress

Emma Stone as Mia Dolan (La La Land)

Often when a good actor plays an actor they pretend to be bad at acting but a big part of what made Emma Stone’s performance so good was her performances in her character’s audition scenes. The other reason was because of the way she sang the audition song near the end of the film. This is also the second award that has the same result as the Oscars.

Best Leading Actor

bojack

Bojack Horseman as Secretariat (Secretariat)

Back in the 90s he was in a very famous TV show- Wait, what is this doing here?

best-leading-actor

Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange/Doctor Strange (Doctor Strange)

That’s better. A big part of why this film made it into my top 10 was thanks to this performance. This is the third time I’ve given Benedict Cumberbatch an award and each time it’s been in a different category (though the first two times were for the same character). I know many people are sick of him but he’s a very good actor and has earned his popularity.

Best Documentary

best-documentary

For the Love of Spock

This was a project that I backed on Kickstarter but even if I hadn’t this would still be the best documentary I saw last year. It shares not just what made Spock such an iconic character but the personal story of Adam Nimoy’s relationship with his father.

Best Pictures

top10moviesof2016

My Top 10 Films of 2016

Rather than just highlight the best animated and live action movies I decided to highlight my entire top 10 list. Some of you might notice Captain America: Civil War is higher on the list than it used to be. The order of this list changed a lot throughout the year and even after posting that continued to happen so in the event it changes again I’m just going to give the award to the whole list. Maybe if the Academy did this they could have avoided their little mix up.

I included less awards than I did last year but kept most of the ones that I felt deserved the most attention. The only awards I regret not including are for short films as I didn’t see that many last year. While my choice to see some of the Oscar nominated movies this year only impacted two awards I’m still glad I did it and am considering doing it again next year (since I know the Oscar bait movies will get a delayed UK release again). I hope you enjoyed reading this, I look forward to doing this again next year.

Leave a Reply

