The Lion Guard: Return of the Roar – Review

So in a discussion about The Lion King movies I found out that The Lion Guard actually had TV movies. So in order for my ranking at the end of my review for the remake to be complete it makes sense to watch them too. First up is the pilot movie.

So right away I’m not the target audience for this, but while it’s not my thing this is an alright pilot. It sets up the lore and cast of the show and lets potential audiences know if this is something worth watching more of. It’s not really my thing but I’m sure there will be children growing up watching the Lion King movies today that will love this.

Lion_Guard_Return_Roar_Screenshot_0036

So something rewatching Simba’s Pride and 1½ will do is make it clear that The Lion King franchise is full of retcons and this is no exception. It is nice that it keeps elements of Simba’s Pride like Kiara around (even though it now makes it weird no one in that movie ever brings up Kiara’s younger brother). Returning characters vary in quality both in writing and art style.

2016-05-15-02_39_27

I’m not going to recommend seeing this unless like me you just want to have a complete series ranking for the Lion King films. I doubt I’ll watch this series again after the next TV movie but it was alright.

Leave a comment